Transition from 2015 to 2016

…. has been anything but smooth!

So while the entire world was celebrating the New Year and wishing each other a “Happy New Year”, there I lay in my bed wondering what is so happy about the New Year. Go ahead and call me a pessimist, but I seriously do not see the need to wish everyone around you a “Happy New Year”. But then my optimist self raises its head and says, “Happiness is a state of mind and that the change of year is just another reason to celebrate life and everything in general. So yes people who partied and enjoyed themselves on the new year, all my wishes with you!

Year 2015 ended on an excellent note, I went for an awesome holiday at the beginning of December for 10 days and had a time of my life, really! To begin with, it was a road trip (needless to say!) and included two hill stations (as if it needed a mention 😛 ). So we started from Goa, visited Gokrana Mahabaleshwar, Murdeswar, Coorg and finally Ooty. We opted to stay in home stays this time instead of hotels and personally I would choose to stay in hotels the next time I travel. I have come to realise that home stays are not my type and I would rather stay in a hotel than a home stay.

The last few months have not been easy for me and my parents since we were laden with the responsibility of my paternal aunt who has developed tuberculosis fibroid near her spine. My mother being a nurse by profession, she is the default referral point in all medical related issues and we end up hosting any and every relatives that needs medical treatment. This is both physically and psychologically taxing for me as well as my parents who are now aging gracefully.

What I have realized and learnt from such incidents is that the gratitude is fast receding from the face of earth. Help and kindness from others is considered as the right of the receiver and the gratefulness turns into arrogance. I completely understand that a patient with such serious illness has to be treated with utmost care, both physical and psychological, but it should be vice versa as well. It is also the responsibility of the patient to conduct in a reasonable manner and to not cause more troubles to people taking care of them. However, my aunt chose to create problems and order my parents around with her arrogance which left me fuming with rage. No one, clearly no one orders around my parents, but they being themselves took all the tantrums under the name that ‘she is just a few years elder to you’ and since we have taken up the responsibility we have to fulfil it.

We were exhausted physically, psychologically and not to mention financially. We poured in all resources to realize that the aunt and few people around and here to milk us dry. Needless to say without a word or gratitude and a downpour of things that how we could have done more. Really! Anyway, the treatment continues and we are still stuck with the situation.

The holiday came as a breath of fresh air when the aunt was temporarily shifted to her home on account of complete bed rest at home. I thoroughly enjoyed the outings and everything that we did except may be for the stay.

Another thing that happened at the end December is that one of the guy BFF is about to move abroad for a long term assignment. To be honest I was facing some extreme emotions at the very same moment. Happiness beyond expectation since he was waiting for this opportunity for a considerable time and a sudden shock and sadness of he leaving me alone for a long time. But I am genuinely happy that he has got this opportunity and is moving ahead in his career.

On the other side, a terrible misunderstanding developed with another BFF. It was a small thing blown out of proportion. Although it is now settled and the misunderstanding is cleared it left a bit of a sour taste with me and I have sort of convulsed into my shell once again. While i do not have any hard feelings at all but I have developed a doubt again if I should really get too close to any friends again. I think it’s a phase and it will pass and we will get back to being our crazy selves.

Phew… that’s all for now folks!

 

P.S. – There is a lot happening on the matrimonial front but more of that in another post.

2 thoughts on “Transition from 2015 to 2016

  1. My Era January 10, 2016 / 3:30 pm

    You’ve had a very eventful December by the sound of it.
    I can totally understand the hurt that anyone whom we’re taking care of being arrogant and ungrateful with us causes. It is sad that it is getting rather frequent everywhere in the world 😦
    Great to note that you & your parents had a good time during travel and visited a number of places.
    May the differences between you & your BFF sort out soon and the rest of 2016 turns out to be a happy, peaceful, fun-filled one for you & your family 🙂

    • Bhagyashree January 10, 2016 / 9:10 pm

      Hello My Era… First of all thank you for stopping by. It’s rather difficult to hold ones temper in such situations but nevertheless I have to support my parents in all their adventures so to say :D.

      I hope all is well at your end!

Leave a Reply

