OH SO BUSY!

When someone throws a sentence named “I am too busy” at me, I generally roll my eyes. I, with all honesty, will accept that I have used this sentence excessively few years back, sometimes in form of a complaint, sometimes as a reason for not doing something or where ever possible. I have also been given an earful for using this sentence on someone too often than required.

Bird Couple
Bird Couple

Well busy literally means being occupied, engaged, involved etc. So when someone says they were too busy or are too busy then I am the first one to lecture them on how there is nothing called being busy it’s just choosing to do one thing over another. For example if you plan to meet someone over the weekend and drop the plan for something else it’s not that you were busy with that something else, it’s just that you chose to do that something else over meeting that person. It all comes down to what is important for you at the end.

Bird Couple
Bird Couple

When I read some articles or self help books (which I rarely read) on managing time or being happy, it keeps repeating one word, prioritize. It seems to be a very small word but over time and with experience I have realised its importance and also the deeper meaning of this word. At one point in time in my life I got all my priorities wrong, wrong might be a very small word, I actually messed up with them so bad that I am still facing their after effects. We may prioritize things and give more or less importance to things or people, but what is the assurance that they are right or wrong? That is where I think that prioritizing has a deeper meaning. While we think and have a smug feeling that what I am doing is absolutely right, we I may be messing up big time and eventually do something that may hamper my past, present and future.

Flower Pot Emboss Painting
Flower Pot Emboss Painting

I gave importance to, I will not say wrong people but not to the people who deserved it big time, or to the things as simple as my health. I was reckless, absolutely direction less, got carried away at the slightest hint of concern that someone showed me and lots more things. I was like dry leaf on a lawn which got carried away with the weakest swing of a wind. Hence I feel prioritising needs a deeper understanding of things, situations, people and most importantly of yourself. If you understand yourself well and know where your heart and mind is taking you, whether that direction is good or bad for you is extremely important. While I have realised it too late, I am happy that I now have a deeper understanding and have acquired the maturity of all the things listed above.

Flower Pot Emboss Painting - Detailing
Flower Pot Emboss Painting – Detailing

Why all the gyaan now? Because I keep on hearing the being busy sentence from lot of people too often. My conspicuous absence from my blog had the same reason; I was much too pre-occupied with work, bad health both physical and emotional. I used to be so tired physically due to strenuous commute to work and psychologically due to too much thinking on too many things which may or may not be required. Not that I did not have ideas or topics to write but my mind used to be so tired that I could hardly lift a figure to write. Also my thoughts were helter skelter and I neither had the energy nor the inclination to collect them and so I let them be for some time.

Flower Pot Emboss Painting - Detailing
Flower Pot Emboss Painting – Detailing

Eventually I took recluse into my hobby, emboss painting which did not need any talking and also diverted my mind from everything that was going on inside and outside of it. I have mentioned about falling out of and in love again with the hobby <here> and <here>. So I started off with a new design which I had not done before and honestly, I did not think it will come out half as well as it has. It has a bird couple, looks like a crane bird with a back drop.

Flower Pot Emboss Painting - Detailing
Flower Pot Emboss Painting – Detailing

The second one that I did was a bigger version of a flower pot painting which I had done earlier. It has come out extremely well and I was so happy with it that it lifted up my gloomy mood immensely. I finally trusted that my gloomy and useless self is not useless after all if it can come out with this sort of work. While I will agree that I am not a great artist, my work might be highly sub-standard as compared to other painters, but what makes me happy is that I have done better than the last time and that if I pour myself into something completely it comes out good unlike my work life! So here are some pictures of them.

Flower Pot Emboss Painting
Flower Pot Emboss Painting
Flower Pot Emboss Painting
Flower Pot Emboss Painting

P.S. : These photographs makes me think twice on buying a new camera. 😉 Will think seriously on it some day!

Leave a Reply

